Dream Theater

Is it even possible to alt-pick at such speeds? Not being a guitarist myself I remember reading somewhere that from a certain point, even the best players are forced to go sweep or hybrid or economic. But maybe it's just nonsense.

I mean, Petrucci must be able to do that, he merely does not want to. Am I right, Saap? :D
I'm sure he's sweep picking that part. It's to fast and and requires some really perfect and accurate picking to pick every single note.

In other news I learned the very first part of the solo. However I'm tapping like on Paschendale and spreading my fingers half way across the neck

I guess this lick is sweep picked and provides too big of a challenge for Petrucci to consistently play flawlessly. Petrucci isn't too good with sweep picking anyway, that's why he utilises alternate picking so much.
It wouldn't be the first time that he's nailed something in studio and struggled with it live. Same thing goes for the ending of the solo of Constant Motion, for example - mindblowing licks on album, but slightly messy live. As Mosh pointed out, played at the normal tempo, Petrucci might actually be able to play the arpeggios pretty damn well.

I remember reading somewhere about him insisting it was alt-picked on the studio recording, but again, my sources fail me.

Well, that is also possible. He might have delivered the studio version by pushing his alternate picking skills to the limit. Once live, Portnoy sped up too much, Petrucci thought: "Oh shit" and had to get by with sweep picking (as well as he could) because it was simply too fast to alternate pick.

From what I've seen, he is hybrid picking live, not straight sweeping. So he's alt picking where he can. It's not so much that it's impossible to alternate pick at that speed, the real challenge is staying consistent when switching strings. It's definitely possible and he's clearly alt picking everything in the recording.