Senjutsu - 3rd September 2021

Had a hectic day today…three hour interview, second Covid vaccination, two hour meeting with supervisor, lost my dog at the shops then found him. Am now happy to have settled in at home and read from page 14 to 31 of this chat as a reward for a long day. Thanks for all the posts folks! Now going to fall asleep with my new nightly routine…listening to TWOTW four times. Glad that new Maiden is back in my life.

The new album cover is great. Thrilled with the amount of lengthy songs on Senjutsu. It means plenty of guitar solos for Adrian, Davey and Janick. Happy with the writing credits. Can’t wait to start reading album reviews to get even more hyped.

As an artist myself, I'm in love with the new cover. I was afraid they'd go animated style or horrible CGI or try and recreate the older artworks with loads of scene detail, but Wilkinson has knocked it out of the park with this. I'm fairly sure it was still produced digitally, but with the right approach that gives depth and actual touch and texture to the work. I also love that he evolved the maturity in the BOS cover...Eddie is Eddie, not like TFF. Kept the dark background, with a slight green light glow. The colouring, detail, lighting is like old traditional photographic portraiture or even Renaissance painting style. So well captured. Eddie also has a kind of early Maiden 'I'ma f**k u up' viscious look that he has married to a more mature style.
Also, whoever has done the supporting graphics and layout (Anthony dry maybe?) also done brilliant work. New Logo in armour/steel style. The kind of thing that can easily go wrong, but looks super classy...the font, the Japanese character stamp, the Calliigraphy brush interpretation of IM logo. Brilliant all round.