GREATEST METAL ALBUM CUP - Winner: Iron Maiden - Seventh Son of a Seventh Son!

Rush has one thing Floyd doesn’t: hard riffs. They also have reggae backbeats, so it’s hard to say how metal they are. Still, a pile of dead mosquitoes couldn’t stop me from voting for rush.

It'd weird how the definition of metal has changed since the days of Purple, Sabbath and (yes) Zep.
Some bands expanded it, others refined it to a very specific pure form without much room for variation. I'm glad that this game has chosen a more open definition.

Personally, I don't consider some of the more extreme forms of music I've heard in this game 'metal' because the metal I have been listening to for 40 years always had melody. To each his or her own.

That said, I find it hard to not consider something like the riffing on Natural Science 'metal.'