What made Clive so special?

chaosapiant

Ancient Marinade
I'm not a drummer. I hear lots of drummers on a regular basis though. My question is literally in the subject: why was Clive so well regarded as a drummer? When I listen to Nicko, he just blows away Clive in every sense, and most other drummers as well. In an age where everyone is trying to one up each other with double bass, no one sounds like Nicko. When I listen to the first three Maiden albums, which I've been doing for over 30 years now, I just don't hear anything super special or standout about him.

To be clear, this is not a knock against Clive. I'm asking because I'm ignorant on his place in the drumming world and want to understand so I can better appreciate his work. He's a very solid drummer, but nothing stands out to me regarding his playing.

Since I'm at work now is the time to read it. Thanks! I'll use my face and read this thread.

Update: I read the thread, but it wasn't super helpful to my question. I see lots of musicians point to Clive as a major influence and I'm trying to figure out what is unique about his playing that would be influencial. He was fast and steady and punky, and I can hear that. But when I listen to Nicko it's like comparing Di'anno and Bruce. Di'anno was a dude with a fantastic voice, but Bruce is on a whole 'nother plane of existence when it comes to vocals. I feel the same about Nicko's drumming. As a dude who's never played drums, I can listen to Nicko and go "yea, no one plays like this". His mixture of single footed bass pedal work with his busy tom fills, snare interplay, and constant jangling cymbals give him a sound that makes it seem like he has 6 arms. Clive is a great drummer, but I don't hear anything that I can single out and go "yea, no one was doing this back in the late 70s/early 80s and it makes sense how folks would be influenced."

Last edited: