The Maiden "Gallop"

Invader

Ancient Mariner
I'm a starting guitarist (3 months under my belt so far) and I've lately been trying to learn the "galloping" guitar of Maiden as seen in songs such as The Trooper.  I read the "Easy Maiden songs" thread and I got lots of use from SMX's advice, but I still am having troubles. 

I've been trying to gallop at slow speeds with the metronome starting from 60 and increasing slowly, but when I reach the region of 80 bpm, I start having trouble.  I can keep up with the rhythm quite easily, but I can never keep it up for long.  I usually mess up because I miss the second of the 16th notes, specifically the upstroke; either my pick accidentally touches the string below, or I pick the string too lightly and the upstroke is slowed down too much, and I miss the next 8th note.

I know the best answer to this is practice and more practice, but I was hoping someone could give me some more specific advice on this. I play the gallop with strict alternate picking, like this: 8th note down, 16th up, 16th down, 8th up, 16th down, 16th up, 8th down, and so on.  Is this where I'm going wrong?  Should I, for example, pick every 8th note down?  Or am I too inexperienced to practice the Maiden gallop at this stage?

What ever the answer is, I find the description of the "problem" very accurate, and it's good to be open about it if you want to learn more.

I am afraid I can't help you, I can't play the gallop myself and don't practice enough to learn it. Still, I am also curious for reactions. Perhaps you indeed need some technical advice, e.g. how to hold the plectrum, what kind of plectrum, etc.

It's really in the flexibility of the wrist. And that comes from practice. So, try not doing it from elbow. 

I find it easier to play the gallop like this: down-pick the first 8th note, and then play the rest of the bar as triplets starting with down picking again.

So, down pick 8th, then down pick 16th up pick 16th down pick 8, rinse and repeat.