Any tips for guitarists ?

Babo 91

Nomad
I have been playing guitar for about 4 months, I have basic knowlege of music theory, Can play quite a few chords and have learnt run to the hills w/o solo and blood brothers with janicks solo. I can play a lot of maiden riffs and melodies and im currenly trying to learn the trooper solos  I am also starting to learn scales and have only learnt c major/am pentatonic so far.

Just wanted to give you some brief information about my ability.

Can someone please give me some advice as to what to do next as i would like to take my playing to the next level . For example. What things should i learn or practice first ?

Any tips or advice will be greatly appreciated. :)

Join a band. Seriously. Form your own if you have to.

Nothing, absolutely nothing, will make you improve faster than playing in a band. Later on, that will stop, when you've been in bands for a while. But for now: you just need to play more.

Here are some other vital tips:

1. Practice with intent. "Practice" isn't just jamming around; that's called jamming. Have a plan. "I'm going to work on this scale, and then learn these two songs." And pay close attention to what you do. Use what the Buddhists call "mindfulness": complete awareness and attention. Otherwise, you won't gain much. Playing "The Trooper" while thinking about your girlfriend won't make you any better at "The Trooper".

2. Practice with a metronome. Invest in a good one if you can. Rhythm is the weak link of all beginner musicians. If you don't believe me, record yourself without a metronome, and then try to match it to a metronome. I always thought I had good rhythm until I did that...

(Playing in a band will improve your rhythm greatly, but you still need a metronome when playing alone.)