Iron Maiden - artworks with Eddie

This is the cover for the Empire of the Clouds ! - I think the artist whose name is Hervé Monjeaud had done a fantastic job.
EOTC is the second single from the album, right ? o_O
eotc.jpg

Great version of the Eddie. I am tempted to say that Mayan Eddie is the most consistently outstanding Eddie.

I like Grant’s VXI and loved FOTD, but I thought TFF was an abomination. I also loved his Eldorado sleeve, it would have served much better as the album cover.

I’m also a fan of Marillion artist Mark Wilkinson who designed TBOS.

However I will always stand by the notion Derek Riggs should be the only artist who paints Eddie.

I dislike Rod Smallwood attitude towards him over the years, as if he’s just another artist who can be disposed of as they see fit.

Although I acknowledge Derek wasn’t putting much effort into his Eddies from NPFTD onwards..

One of Rigg’s biggest gripes was that Rod wouldn’t give him sufficient time and notice to paint or come up with an idea...

I loved it in the 80s when kids adopted Riggs logo as also the bands logo and they would scribe the logo on school books

I agree about the FOTD and VXI album covers - they're awesome. TFF cover is 50/50 for me.

Mark Wilkinson was a long time artist for the Judas Priest albums 'till the new album. Great Eddie on TBOS cover, but the background should had been more detail-ish - a Mayan pyramid with jungle surround it behind Eddie would have been fantastic !

Derek Riggs is so good. Now he works with computers (CG form) for his pictures - and he's not doing very well ! The Eddies he created are timeless. Probably his worst Eddie on the album cover (If I dare to choose, because they're all awesome) is the one for the NPFTD album - it's still good, but as you said he wasn't putting much effort on the Eddies from NPFTD onwards.
I quite like the album cover for the BNW album - well, he done only the cloud, but is still great !