when have Maiden been at their biggest??

And I don't mean waistlines!!!

I have been listening to Maiden and been a devout follower since 1985 or so. They have never been "fashionable", have enjoyed very little airplay on mainstream radio or TV yet they have still managed to sell nearly 100 million albums and sell out concerts all over the world. All this you already know.

But the vibes I am getting at the moment with the focus on the band from people like Sky, CNN, Billboard and kerrang just seems a little unprecedented. Are they now after 30 years finally getting the recognition they deserve from the media?? Are Maiden bigger now than they have ever been?

With a base of loyal fans now in their 30's, 40's and 50's (and maybe older) they are also attracting a new generation of fans. Can anyone think of a time when maiden have had more spotlight on them and enjoyed more success. I know that the band themselves shy away from publicity and the "rockstar" lifestyle but it makes me feel warm inside that the band I have loved for twenty odd years are getting the attention they deserve.

Please have your say...

It depends which criteria one prefers to use.
Maiden surely sold most records faster in the eighties, especially in the U.S.A.

Awards in the eighties in the U.S.A.:

Killers
Released: June 1981
Gold: 20 Januari 1987

The Number Of The Beast
Released: 29 March 1982
Gold: 4 October 1983
Platinum: 2 October 1986

Piece Of Mind
Released: 16 May 1983
Gold: 28 Juli 1983
Platinum: 5 November 1986

Powerslave
Released: 3 September 1984
Gold: 7 November 1984

Live After Death
Released: 14 October 1985 
Gold: 18 December 1985

Somewhere In Time
Released: 29 June 1986
Gold: 18 November 1986

Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son
Released: 11 April 1988
Gold: 6 June 1988

The last golden album Maiden got in the U.S.A. was No Prayer For The Dying, awarded 27 November 1990. That was a millennium ago.  ;)

Forostar said:
It depends which criteria one prefers to use.