A question about Vinyl?

Seventh Son

Invader
Hey guys, I just bought Iron Maiden's "The First Ten Years" 12" box set off eBay, it's in pretty good nick and the vinyl has had minimal play, majority of the singles have never been played.

Now, for the question, does playing vinyl damage it? I've never used it before, I don't own a turntable and I'm just wondering if it's worth playing them, I don't want to damage them at all, so to those of you who know your stuff, could you please lend some advice :)

Thanks.

I am not sure I am wording this correctly, but playing vinyl over and over will have an affect on the grooves in the records, for me I cannot hear it ... others caim they can. But in general, if you treat the records with care and do not scratch them, handle them on the edges, etc, they will last forever. I have some records from the 1960s that still play fine, I have relatives with records older than that that still play well.

Vinyl can be damaged over time, but the appropriate thing - in addition to what bearfan said - is needle maintenance. If you play vinyl on a very dull needle, you will widen or scratch the grooves.

Good point, the needle "specs" on my record player essentially say to replace the needle once a year. I usually do it every 5 or 6 months. There are people selling needles on ebay/other sites that are of good quality and only cost $5 to $6 a piece. I usually buy 5 at a time (to save on shipping costs) and just have them handy. If it even looks like it is starting to get dull, I will swap it out. However, records are my main source of music at home, so I play at least one record a day, some days 7 or 8.