UK Politics

As opposed to what the native speaker said?

In this case, yes, because it's what every grammar and style guide also says.

I make plenty of mistakes in my native language as well, and I would always tell you to rather listen to a teacher of the language than myself.

As opposed to what the native speaker said?

Ariana is a professional English teacher, and I am a professional English translator and interpreter. Academic qualification obtained by actually studying the language surely counts for something?

Less and few debacle is one of descriptive grammar and prescriptive grammar. That is, the usage we've explained is the one preferred academically and one mentioned in grammar guides (prescriptive). The one you've used is frequently used (descriptive), but considered a mistake.

What will do Johnson if EU don't accept what he wants?

Didn't they agree on a deal several weeks ago? A deal that was pretty much Boris Johnson's leverage going into this election - "vote for us and get this thing done" wouldn't carry much credibility hadn't they had a deal negotiated already.

Not that Boris Johnson and credibility go well together in the first place ... but in this case, the voters concluded the opposition had even less credibility. Which says a lot about the rubbish job Corbyn has done.

From the outside, this did not seem like a normal election. Certainly there were other issues besides Brexit, but that seemed to be the main issue. Johnson campaigned on a way to break the stalemate and Labor seemed to campaign on "we will rewind and replay the last 12 or so months, then have another vote that might put us right back where we are now" My guess would be that even people that voted remain were tired of being in limbo and just want it over (one way or another) and voted that way.

The result is Johnson can claim a clear mandate to take Brexit to the finish line now.