One thing I have noticed on A Matter of Life and Death:

Dr. Eddies Wingman

Brighter than thousand_suns
Before you read on; this is most likely not interesting to those who do not know simple music theory (chord names and such things). I guess many forum members play an instrument, so they would know what I'm talking about and even be able to correct me - I'm by no means an expert in music theory myself).

Many say this album is the best Maiden album since the 80's - to which I agree, it is a very solid album. But what makes people see it as an improvement from the two previous albums? Well, more consistent songwriting, perhaps - or better performance from individual band members?

I think one point is that on AMOLAD the band used some new musical ideas. More use of odd-time signatures, more use of acoustic guitar, and some songs contain a chord progression I haven't heard from Maiden earlier - and this is where I come to the point.

In "Brighter than a thousand suns", we first hear it during the "Out of the universe ..." - it starts with E5-C5-A5 and usually I would expect to hear a D5 next. (The E-C-A-D an E-C-G-D progressions are very common in Maiden songs). Instead, they use the F5 chord which came as a surprise to me when I first heard the song. When one has heard most Maiden songs plenty of times, one is used to their standard chord progressions. As an example of a Maiden song using loads of typical progressions, listen to "No more lies".

Now, introducing an unusual chord progression in one part of one song isn't much of a "twist". But throughout the song, variants are used several times - the clean guitar line under the "out of the darkness ..." lines plays EmAdd9-Cmaj7-AmAdd9-Fmaj7b5 (correct me if I'm wrong) and the heavy middle part also uses the E5-C5-A5-F5 combination.

The same progression or "derivations" of it are used in two other songs as well: