Bruce's voice straining

chaosapiant

Ancient Marinade
While listening to the new album, I noticed there are a lot of notes that even Blaze could hit that Bruce sounds strained on.  Yet, at the same time (in the same song often) he kicks it up an octave higher with no trouble whatsoever.  I'm curious as to what causes this.  My hypothesis is that he actually doesn't strain his voice at all, but the texture of his voice simply sounds that way.  I'm not a professional singer though, so I don't know how this stuff works.

Bruce isn't a trained singer, remember, so....yeah. He probably does just sing differently in different octaves.

The voice is split up mainly into three different ranges: Chest, head and falsetto voice. There is a gap inbetween each of these and the transition is often audible (although Halford could back in the day go from a very high note to a low without me barely able to recognize the points of transition. The basic technique there is to intertwine the register and use falsetto register* before the end of the head register for instance)  What will sound strained in chest will not do so in head etc and it has also a lot to do with how you use your jaw to resonate and how you pronounce the words (which is partly why he sounds strained on
Mother of Mercy
. To illustrate: Think of the word "me". If you pronounce it "miiiiiiiii" and you're high up in a register it will sound very strained yet if you pronounce it "meeeeeeyyyy" in the same register and and pitch it will not.

<--- No singer.

* I differ between falsetto technique and falsetto range (not saying I'm using the correct terminology at all here) as you can use other techniques (i.e. belting) to reach the same pitch as a falsetto without it sounding like a falsetto).