Question For Guitarists

A

Anonymous

Alright, I might completely embarass myself with this question, but here goes.

I am currently listening to some tracks from the Madrid '98 bootleg, including "The Evil That Men Do " and "Fear Of The Dark" (no, not all at once). If anyone is familiar with VXI boots, they will know that the guitar sound on the "classic" tracks is pretty close to that on the VXI tracks. I can't really describe it in words, but I'm sure you will know what I mean.
Now, I am a complete novice to anything that has to do with instrumental/musical technology, so I'm asking: Where does this come from? Does it have to do with the guitar tuning, or are the band simply using different guitar types than on the original studio versions of the classic tracks? Or is it something completely else? Or am I just hearing angels singing?

[!--quoteo(post=131402:date=Mar 10 2006, 10:06 AM:name=Perun)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(Perun @ Mar 10 2006, 10:06 AM) [snapback]131402[/snapback][/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
Alright, I might completely embarass myself with this question, but here goes.

I am currently listening to some tracks from the Madrid '98 bootleg, including "The Evil That Men Do " and "Fear Of The Dark" (no, not all at once). If anyone is familiar with VXI boots, they will know that the guitar sound on the "classic" tracks is pretty close to that on the VXI tracks. I can't really describe it in words, but I'm sure you will know what I mean.
Now, I am a complete novice to anything that has to do with instrumental/musical technology, so I'm asking: Where does this come from? Does it have to do with the guitar tuning, or are the band simply using different guitar types than on the original studio versions of the classic tracks? Or is it something completely else? Or am I just hearing angels singing?
[/quote]

I am not a guitarist and I don't know much about the techniques that are involved.