Thinking of changing all my gear. Advice needed

Babo 91

Nomad
I currently have a

- line 6 spider 4 15 watt amp ( i think this amp sucks. dont buy it EVER)

- Ibanez grg170dxl guitar

- Boss ds1 distortion pedal

I have been playing for about 7 months and have been practicing on average about 4 hours a day. But i am no longer satisfied with my sound. My tone isnt as smoother or as clear as i would like it to be. it is too buzzy and broken sounding.

I want to take my playing to the next level and hopefully start or join a band but my sound de-motivates me to do so. I listen to maiden and would kill for a tone half as good as theirs. Over the next few months i am going to have plenty of money to burn (between about £900 and £1500) and i would to invest in a great guitar and amp thats going to give me a great tone and overall sound.

I would like some advice on what i can buy to help me achieve this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Go to your local guitar store and play everything they've got till you find what you want.

Seriously. That's how I found my Ibanez bass, which I love to death.

I have nothing different than what what SMX said, but I do have a praise!
4 hours of practice a day, that's impressive! What do you practice, if I may ask?

Mega said:
I have nothing different than what what SMX said, but I do have a praise!
4 hours of practice a day, that's impressive! What do you practice, if I may ask?

I will usually play like a 20 song set which will be maiden, dickinson and sabbath orientated but i will throw in a few country or blues songs. I usually spend a bit of time just improvising in different keys and different modes and doing alternate picking and sweep picking. I also try and learn one new song every week, like today i played a deja vu at 75% speed 5 times in row. I cant tell you how boring it is but it works.