The Wicker Man And Priest's Running Wild

That Girl

Invader
I just got "Hell Bent For Leather" a few weeks ago, and the opening for "Running Wild" and "The Wicker Man" are pretty much identical- same key, almost same speed. Do you think Maiden is paying tribute to Priest, or is it just pure coincidence?

Definitely coincidence...that riff is as much "standard riff" as you can get... it's also used (more or less) in "22 Acacia Avenue", "Futureal", "Invaders" ... the rest of the song is COMPLETELY different.

Yeah, but still, if you play them at the same time, you can't tell the difference there for a second. I guess that's why I'm a drummer and not guitar player! Also, in "Running Free" Paul sings "Get out my way!" as does Rob in "Running Wild". Another coincidence? ::

Ii had mentioned this in a topic a while back, and someone shot me down, too. But I agree with you! The openings sound identical to me.

I never said they didn't sound alike... I said it think it is coincidence that they do... because there are hundreds of similar riffs in other songs/Metal songs in general.

Even the mother of all guitar riffs, "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" by the Rolling Stones bears some similarity to "The Wicker Man".

And I don't think they have to rip off old Priest songs that are well-known... we're talking about Adrian Smith here, Ladies and Gentlemen [img src=\"style_emoticons/[#EMO_DIR#]/wink.gif\" style=\"vertical-align:middle\" emoid=\";)\" border=\"0\" alt=\"wink.gif\" /]

They do sound a like but I don't think this is a tribute to Priest or anything...
Bands "rip off" each other all of the time, it is especially more notable with famous bands like Priest, Maiden, Metallica, Megadeth, Black Sabbath etc. Basically all thrash metal all sounds the same to me anyway [img src=\"style_emoticons/[#EMO_DIR#]/tongue.gif\" style=\"vertical-align:middle\" emoid=\":p\" border=\"0\" alt=\"tongue.gif\" /]

Edit: I just saw Perun's post and wtf ::