Iron Maiden in the classroom...

Ascendingthethrone

Ancient Mariner
Evening all,

This is my new thread to document the times I manage to sneak Iron Maiden references into the classroom. I am a music and history teacher in England and a massive Maiden fan. Therefore, there are perfect opportunities to educate people in the way of the Maiden.

Recent attempts.

Walked into a practice room where a kid was playing a crotchet beat on the bass drum and I burst into "WHITE MAN CAME, ACROSS THE SEA..." as loud as I could.

Demonstrating guitar chords to a group and one girl responded, "Sir when she comes back we are going to have 3 guitars. That won't work". My response, "You obviously have never heard of Iron Maiden then!" and busted out a rendition of the Trooper on the guitar.

Using the ending of TBOS to demonstrate thick musical textures to 9 year olds!

You have to find little ways to make yourself laugh even if the kids have no idea what is going on.

I will keep you posted!

My history teacher payed me a dollar to burn him an Iron Maiden cd. Thats about it for me.

i work on a college campus with a lot of interns and student workers in my office. i'm just known as the guy who blasts maiden, jesus and mary chain, and phish out of his office. that's all i got.

Nice. My English teacher was the one who introduced me to Maiden by making references all the time. These classes were pure gold, so many great memories.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I'm going to play some Maiden in my class during our Halloween presentations next month. It will probably be If Eternity Should Fail. I also had Wasted Years played on the school loudspeakers during my birthday. I'd play the entire song but I'm also going to teach my students a little about the history of such as Transylvania and Vlad the Impaler. I should play Iron Maiden's Transylvania while talking about him.

Last edited: