any of you guys know what scales iron maiden uses?

A

Anonymous

I think they use natural harmonic but I am not sure.

I've been studying and playing music for over 25 years, and I have never heard of any scale called "natural harmonic". It simply does not exist.

Natural minor, better known as the minor scale, is the sixth mode of a major scale. In other words, take any major scale and number the tones from 1 (the tonic) up to 7 (the one just below the tonic, technically called the leading tone). Now play those exact notes, except start on #6: 6 7 1 2 3 4 5 6. That is the minor scale, sometimes described as "natural" because no tones have been altered.

Harmonic minor is a natural minor scale with the seventh tone of the scale raised a half-step. This leaves a half-step between the seventh tone and the tonic, just as in a major scale; in other words, it changes a subtonic tone back into a leading tone. However, when it was created in Bach's time, this scale was not intended to be played melodically. The raised tone only appeared in two contexts:
1. As part of a V chord, making the chord major rather than minor. Classical music theory requires frequent use of V chords, and their intended impact is significantly blunted if the chord is minor.
2. As part of a melody which goes down to the raised tone (but no lower), and then resolves up a half-step to the tonic. Even in this situation, the usage of the raised tone is done to imitate the feel of a V-I chord change.
In other words, the alterations to a harmonic minor scale are done for purposes of harmony. For melodic usage of the scale, the natural scale is still used. In classical music theory, playing the harmonic minor scale melodically is forbidden.
Heavy metal guitarists have taken to using this scale melodically because the augmented second between the sixth and seventh degrees creates an exotic sound, often described as "Arabic" or "Egyptian".