Album production, overall sound - loudness war?

Invisible

Invader
I got the WavPack version of The Final Frontier CD last night, 1441 kbps zero compression. Call me a pirate, of course I'll have the actual CD tomorrow!

My first and impression was that the mix puts a lot of pressure to the ears. Everything sounds so bold all the time. It does help with the overall impact, but when you come to think of it, it may be missing a bit of individual texture to the instruments, accentuation, a more natural pulse. It's all cranked up all the time, the typical fashion of today's industry.

I know many of you already got the CD so, what are your thoughts on the production and is TFF a victim of the loudness war?

TFF is most certainly NOT a victim of the loudness war.

I am an audio engineer who is currently producing my own band's first album. I've been through the mixing and mastering stages, and especially mastering is the point at which you have to decide how loud you want your album to be, because it's inheritly "quiet" after mixing. If you look at bands like Saxon, they make their recent albums extremely loud, going well over the possible dynamic spectrum using brickwall limiting to an extreme. At first it sounds punchy as hell, but after I noticed how little room for dynamics they left and how much distortion there is, I couldn't really enjoy the songs anymore. And I won't mention Metallica's last effort; that is the perfect example of what NOT to do.

A great video illustrating this loudness problem is here.