A professional view of "These Colours Don't Run"

A

Anonymous

First things first. I believe this one to be the best song on "A matter of life and death".
It contains a great riff, good workin' bassline, and a great chorus. Its raw energy and dark, thoughtful lyrics, draws attention to a deeper look and thought to the song itself and its message and content.

I am a former Norwegian Home Guard Major, and current working as a Priest in the Church of Norway.
My military background is fairly basic, as I have served as a common soldier, even before I started studying Theology at University.
Now, it all turned very different being part of the Homeguard (or known in Norwegian as Heimevernet).

Having taught Ethics in classes I believe worthy to put some thoughts in on the album itself and TCDR in particular.

1) I remember one class, first topic is "What I am doing, serving the army"?
What is my identity as a soldier. Defining a mercenary: "Somebody fighting for another country, and being paid for it."
Question is: What's the difference between yourself and a mercenary?

Let's remember that Maiden are writing in their British context, probably reflecting on the English/British contributions
in certain conflicts across the globe.
The fact is that the UK have no conscript, only Soldiers signing up as volunteers. They are professional soldiers, designed to intervene in conflicts across the globe, as well as protecting the homeland.
Same goes for the US Marines, Army etc.
They also base themselves on volunteers.

Certain Scandinavian countries have conscript, forced 12 months military service.
Although, the professional, contract-signing privates and officers numbers have increased.
So, what is the difference between duty and being paid for your services.

What are the main urges and motivation for signing up for your country?

Well, for me would be to defend my homeland,family, neighbour and religion.
Or, I am obliged to.