Now Playing (Video Games)

Since the MLG Columbus CS:GO major starts today, I will ask what I have long been wondering: am I the only one here who pays attention to the CS:GO pro scene? Would be cool to discuss it with someone else.

Well I did some CS:GO online but I'm a noob. I did CS original in LAN.
CS:GO / DotA world championship finals were here two weeks ago. I wanted to go but I thought that's going to be a mega LAN party over there, not couple of thousand kids sitting down in arena watching at big screens.

Now get off my lawn.

Split, Croatia, weekend about three weeks ago? I thought you would know more, I think this was pretty high profile since win prizes were well into hundreds of thousands of dollars domain. I think it was $200k for DotA #1 alone.

DoTA has much larger prize pools than CSGO (200k is not much for #1 in DotA). It could not have been a large tournament for CS because the last one before today was about two weeks ago in Katowice. It's possible there were some less well known teams competing in Croatia.

CS:GO was this http://www.counterpit.com/
Croatia hasn't got a big gaming scene cause it's got 4m people and an old population. There were only several Croats as competitors, the guy from Split playing DotA described his team as top in Europe, attendance was about 15.000 in 2 days so I guess it's not that less known event...I have a beard but for christ's sake 'e-sports' haven't got football numbers yet, full arena has to be some top tier competition.

How long are you playing CS:GO?

Some top tier teams in there, mostly random ones though. The biggest CSGO country is Sweden, home to Fnatic and NiP, the first being world's best currently and the latter formerly. France, Poland and Denmark have many big names as well.

I started playing in August 2014 and started following the pro scene about a month later. Currently haven't played for about 3 weeks though.